Find by label


Artist links

Manu Katché

Manu Katché
Paris-born (in 1958) and originally a pianist, Katché switched to percussion while studying at the Paris Conservatory. His distinctive drum style is derived from classical snare drum and kettledrum studies as well as from a conscious embracing of African roots. His work with Peter Gabriel on the album “So” and, subsequently on the Amnesty International World tour with Gabriel, Sting and Tracey Chapman catapulted him to world attention and he was soon recording and/or touring with Joni Mitchell, Robbie Robertson, Dire Straits, Simple Minds, The Bee Gees, Tears for Fears, Youssou N’Dour, Joan Armatrading, Joe Satriani, Nigel Kennedy and dozens more. His ECM affiliations include recordings with Jan Garbarek, amongst them: “Took Up The Runes”, “Twelve Moons”, “Visible World”, “In Praise of Dreams”, and the recent live album “Dresden”. Katché’s first leader date for the label, “Neighbourhood”, was recorded in 2004, with “Playground” following in 2007.

Pino Palladino
Regarded as an innovator on both fretless and fretted bass guitars, Palladino (born in Wales in 1957) has played with Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck, Paul Simon, Chaka Khan and many other major figures in rock/pop/soul, while jazz and blues and associations range from BB King to Roy Hargrove. His collaborations with Katché have included their cooperative band The Tweeters with Dominic Miller. Best known as a session player par excellence, Palladino has toured the world with two rock group in recent years - as a member of the Who (replacing the late John Entwistle) and the John Mayer Trio.

Jason Rebello
Born 1969 in England, pianist Rebello was once described by UK critic Stuart Nicholson as “probably the finest young jazz musician this country has produced.” He has played with many leading jazz musicians, from Gary Burton to Branford Marsalis, and his 1990 debut album was produced by Wayne Shorter. A member of Sting’s band for several years. Recently working with Jeff Beck and singer Madeleine Peyroux.

Tore Brunborg
The Norwegian saxophonist (born 1960) is well-known to followers of music on ECM. A member of the band Masqualero (with Arild Andersen, Jon Christensen, Nils Petter Molvaer) from 1982-1992, he has also appeared on albums by Jon Balke, Misha Alperin, and Tord Gustavsen. In the current season he is commuting between three ECM groups – the Gustavsen Ensemble (current album “Restored, Returned”), Manu’s band, and a new trio with Ketil Bjørnstad and Jon Christensen (album “Remembrance” to be released April 2010).

Jacob Young
Norwegian/American guitarist Jacob Young (born 1970) studied with Jim Hall and John Abercrombie in New York. He has two ECM discs to his credit so far: “Evening Falls”, recorded 2002, and “Sideways”, recorded 2006.

Kami Lyle
The American singer/songwriter/trumpeter (born 1968) adds vocals to “Stay with You”, for which she also wrote the lyrics. Lyle studied at the Berklee College of Music, has appeared as trumpeter on recordings by NRBQ, Patty Griffin and Ron Sexsmith, and issued two albums of her own material, “Blue Cinderella” (1997) and “Ten Songs” (2005).

Artist blog