Find by label


Albums by Atle Nymo & Ingebrigt Håker Flaten & Håkon Mjåset Johansen

Atle Nymo & Ingebrigt Håker Flaten & Håkon Mjåset Johansen

The three musicians, all of them among Norway's finest jazz musicians, have long shared a deep fascination for this beautiful piece of music. Interpreting the material with great creativity, the three give their very own reading of the songs. The result: a hard-driving, yet lyrical recording, proving once again the timeless quality of the material.

Atle Nymo (tenor saxophone):
The last few years, Atle has made a strong mark on the Norwegian jazzscene. He was in 2001 awarded ”Young Nordic Jazz Comet” with the band Motif, and has since collaborated with people like John Taylor, Palle Danielsson and Roger Kellaway. He is working in bands like Motif, Trondheim Jazzorchestra, and has also worked in projects with Chick Corea and Pat Metheny, and the Norwegian lyricist Jan Erik Vold.

Ingebrigt Håker Flaten (double bass):
One of the big profiles in Norwegian jazz, who has played with about everyone in the Norwegian jazz community, and many international players like Evan Parker, David Liebman, Joe Lovano, Paul Lytton and Yusef Lateef. He is renowned as a powerful bassplayer in bands like Atomic, Close Erase, Free Fall, The Thing og Bugge Wesseltoft. He released a solo album in 2003 to great critical acclaim.

Håkon Mjåset Johansen (drums):
Established himself from an early age as one of Norways most active drummers. He has won the Norwegian grammy with the bands Urban Connection and Come Shine, and been touring and recording with artists like Jan Garbarek, Michael Brecker, Steve Grossman, and Chick Corea. He is active in a dozen bands, for example Motif, Maryland and Håvard Wiik Trio.

Artist blog