Find by label


Artist links

Albums by Ingar Zach

Ingar Zach

Ingar Zach, born in Oslo, June 29th 1971, is one of the leading percussionists/improvisers from Norway. He is known for the wide range of sounds in his drum kit and he uses his percussion in a very dynamic but still energetic way. Now living in Madrid, he concentrates on his solo work and his regular ensembles.

He has been dedicated to experimental music and folk music for the last five years and he is now touring and recording with his regular ensembles but in Europe, Canada, USA, South America and Asia.

He founded the Norwegian label for improvised music, SOFA, together with guitar player, Ivar Grydeland in May 2000 and the SILLÓN label in 2005.

Current working ensembles

  • Huntsville with Tonny Kluften & Ivar Grydeland (
  • Laboratory Field with David Stackenäs.
  • No Spaghetti Edition(N), an improvising ensemble consisting of Norwegian and international improvisers.
  • MUTA with Rhodri Davies (UK) and Alessandra Rombolá (ITA).
  • LOOPER with Nikos Veliotis (GRE), Martin Küchen (SWE) and with guest John Tilbury (UK). Check out
  • Jon Balke's Magnetic North Orchestra
  • Flore De Cataclysmo with Michel Doneda (FRA) and Giuseppe Ielasi (ITA).
  • Dans les arbres

    Read more about Ingar at

  • Artist blog